Modest Mouse – Ocean Breathes Salty

Nip Slips and Other Musings

I used to know a girl who was a real goody-goody. I always pitied her because I wondered if she would ever regret not cutting loose or breaking the rules, every once in a while. I would always think of her when I heard this song.

Then, this morning Pandora reacquainted me with it. I started to think about the last line of yesterday’s post–when I said that I don’t care what happens to me.

I regret saying that.

I thought of everything I have and those that care about me, and how I often squander it because of laziness or fear. I’m ashamed of feeling it, but more so for saying it. Some cannot afford to be so frivolous.

I now think of someone singing this to me. Telling me that I’m wasting life. The whole time I pitied this girl, I never once thought about me. I may…

View original post 98 more words

Leave a Reply

